HNG 8 Internship Program (Backend Track)

Joining the HNG internship program had always been at the back of my mind. So when the opportunity to join the August cohort presented itself, I jumped on it without a second thought.

Software development is as much about using technology to solve problems as it is about continuous learning. To me, the HNG internship will provide an excellent avenue to learn new skills and technologies, sharpen the skills I already have and collaborate with like minded fellows from disparate backgrounds.

To hold myself accountable and stick to this journey, I have set a few goals that I have to achieve at the end of this 2 month period:

  1. Deeply understand what it takes to be a great backend developer
  2. Be proficient in database design
  3. Understand all the processes involved in application deployment
  4. Understand common design patterns used in backend development.
  5. Gain proficiency in designing great REST APIs

By the end of this internship period, I want to achieve, at the minimum, the following:

  1. Successfully build a non-trivial medium-scale backend application
  2. Gain a thorough understanding of database/SQL queries
  3. Successfully host a running application in the cloud.

Some of the awesome free online resources that have been of help in my development journey include the following:

To learn more about the program, checkout the following links: